What's new
What's new

Tolerence for press fit bushings

Boo Crew Prod

Plastic
I am new to machining. I recently got my milling machine all set up and running. Now I have many projects planned. Right now I am in need of the proper tolerance to press fit bronze bushings into 14 gauge square tubing. I was told -.005 would be the best fit. I need to buy a chucking reamer and want to make sure I get the right fit.
.5610" reamer would be -.0035" to -.0045"
.5625" reamer would be -.002" to .003"
.5640" reamer would be -.0005" to 0015"
Am I correct on these?

Here is what I am working with;
Material: Bronze
Bronze Type: SAE 841 Bronze
Type: Sleeve Bearings
Certificate of Conformity: Without Certificate
For Shaft Diameter (Inside Diameter): 3/8"
Inside Diameter Tolerance: +.0005" to +.0015"
Outside Diameter: 9/16"
Outside Diameter Tolerance: +.0020" to +.0030"
Length: 1"
Length Tolerance: ±.005"
Load (P Max): 2,000
Speed (V Max): 1,200
Load at Speed (PV Max): 50,000

Any and all help would be greatly apperciated.

Thanks
Ken

What ever "tightness" you select is up to you. You possibly realize the important part is the bushing bore after it is pressed in. Tighter fits just mean this will be smaller.

You have said nothing at all about what must fit in the bushing bore, or what size it might be.

There have been special non cutting sizing tools made for sizing 841 bushings since machining the material just closes up the pores that let the oil out of the bushing.

J.O.

J.O.

I will be using a 3/8 x 2-1/4" shoulder bolt through the bushings. The specs. for those are as follows.
Material Type: Steel
Steel Type: Plain Steel
Head Style: Socket
Head Diameter: 9/16"
Inch Thread Size: 5/16"-18
Shoulder Diameter: 3/8"
Shoulder Diameter Tolerance: -.002" to -.004"
Shoulder Length: 2-1/4"
Shoulder Length Tolerance: ±.005"
Tolerance: Standard
Thread Length: 1/2"
Thread Fit: Class 3A
Rockwell Hardness: Minimum C32

Thank you for your help so far.

If it were my job: