What's new
What's new

Lathe Question. parting..

Doc H.R.

Plastic
i am new to machining, just got a 1340 and working on honing in my skills.

i am looking for some tips on parting. i can't seem to part much more that 1 inch with out trashing my inserts. as well as i get some really bad vibrations. i wonder if my turning speed is not right? and i assume that the inset should be cutting at the center point?

any help or other additional tips would be great!!. thanks!

It's been covered pretty regularly, search for parting.
The basics:
Tool on center.
Tool as close to the chuck or collet as possible.
For steel, continuous addition of heavy sulphurized oil in the groove or flood coolant.
Power crossfeed if you have it.
As little tool extension (stickout) as possible.

Reasons for chatter are violating any of the above.

Parting off in a manual is always tough on inserts. Follow these steps:
1. Use the correct insert grade for the material you are cutting.
2. make your setup as rigid as possible. also make sure your cutting tool is straight with the world.
3. set your tool to just above center, .01" inch will work. In a manual lathe, your part will always try to ride over the top of the cutting tool so setting it just above center will insure that under pressure the tool is cutting on center.
4. listen to the cut. Is it Chirping? slow down the rpm. Still chirping? speed up your feed.
5. use air blow or cutting oil to cool off the part and to clear chips from building up.

I am sure some will look down their noses a bit when I say this....but.....for me if I am doing a one-off part on a manual lathe, I have gotten to the point of saying to hell with the cut off. I throw it on the saw, cut it off, then face the backside. Obviously not an option if trying to do some production parts in a manual late.

Glad I'm not the only one who has a hard time.