What's new
What's new

Tricks for adjusting gibs?

ions82

Stainless
Hello!

I am in the process of cleaning up a Tree Journeyman 330 CNC knee mill. It doesn't appear to have had a very hard life. I have just been cleaning it all up to make it nice and pretty before I start running it. I removed the gibs in order to clean them and check for wear/damage/chips.

Now that I have them back in place, I am wondering how to properly adjust them. Is it something that is done by feel? Indicator? I am still fairly new to machine work, so I have never really had the need to dial in a machine. This mills has a box way for the Y-axis and a dovetail for the X. With two gibs on the Y, do they need to be adjusted in order? I'm guessing that the gib on the side is the more crucial of the two.

Anyway, if anyone has some pointers that they can give me, please let me know. The machine is coming together nicely, and I want to ensure that I don't create any inaccuracies through my incompetence. I also considered replacing the balls in the screws, but that will be a project for another time. Thank you for any help!

This is a question I was going to ask for a Tree 325. The manual punks out with 'gibs are pre-set at the factory...have a service technician make adjustments'. Can't imagine why this is not within the capacity of a machine shop to adjust their machine gibs.

If someone knows...can help out two people....

Loggerhogger's suggestion matches the technique that I use on Bridgeports.

The comment about two gibs on the Y axis leads me to believe that one sets the squareness of the table and the other sets the clearance, i.e. it fills the empty space. If this is true, then the adjustment sequence could be critical, and the two gibs may not be identical.

- Leigh

Since its a Tree I assume you mean tapered gibs.