What's new
What's new

UL certification/ listing help

KennethPalesh

Plastic
Good afternoon everyone,

I found this site through a wild google search. Good times! ( http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...-process-getting-machine-ul-certified-254730/ ). I read the above link and it is bit out of date and doesn't really apply in my scenario.

My name is Kenneth Palesh, I work as a controls engineer, I have just received and RFQ (request for quote) from a new customer. On the quote the quantity is for 400 machines that are UL certified (not sure which certification they are after yet). The machine will basically spray items with a water resistant spray, for example this machine will go in a store that sells running shoes, at checkout the customer will be ask if they would like to have their shoes sprayed for water resistance.

I assume the customer wants the UL so they can get this machine in all their stores and not void their insurance.

The machine will at this time consist of a:

single phase 120-vac blower to extract the fumes
diaphragm pump
locking door
filters which include a charcoal filter
3 selectabable programs (large/medium/small)

The fluid is flammable and is very similar to kerosene in its properties, currently looking into what its chemical make up is.

My question is how do I go about getting these/this machine UL certified? Is this better handled via a phone call to someone? or better question if I have never done this before do I want to back away slowly? If I do want to do this does anyone have a ball park of cost and or time frame?

Thanks for your time and help. If I have posted in the wrong area please move this post.
Kenneth Palesh

It's a very big deal, and is unlikely to be profitable for a single customer.

By the way, did the customer specify UL, or a Nationally Recognized Testing Lab (of which UL is one)? The other labs are far easier and cheaper than UL, from what I've heard from people who do this for a living.