What's new
What's new

Ultrasonic cleaning and anodized parts - what's the deal?

knurledflanges

Plastic
Hi everyone. I've got a question about ultrasonic cleaners and aluminum and this seems like a pretty good place to ask it, since a lot of people on here seem to know a lot about the practical aspects of handling metals. Forgive me if this question is answered somewhere in the forums; I can't find it.

I'm a bicycle mechanic in the planning stages of a repair shop business and I'm trying to figure out what kind of parts cleaning system to use. I've used aqueous parts washers with alkaline detergent before but I'm looking for something a little smaller, more contained, and less overkill. Ultrasonic cleaners seem promising, although I've never actually used them. Everyone reports good experiences with them on the common, all- or mostly-steel small parts of bikes that need intense cleaning, namely chains and cassettes (rear gear clusters). However, I'll want something I can throw other grunged up parts in. Most of those other parts will be aluminum, and most of those will be anodized. Bike parts have a lot of very thin "bright silver" anodization, and black/dark ano is prevalent too.

What I'm trying to figure out is what's the ultrasonic process and solution I can use, if any, that's guaranteed to never mess up the finish or integrity of aluminum parts, or comes reasonably close to it, is also compatible with steel and ti, and is good at cleaning packed oil and debris? There's a lot of opinions and loose experiences running around on this topic on the internet, but I'm having a hard time finding the science. Thanks!

Edit: If possible, I want to buy a cleaner that doesn't have the sweep frequency feature, or at least isn't advertised as such, like this. It seems like the ones without sweep are always cheaper for a given volume. But, is sweep what I would really need to ensure I'm not at risk of damaging parts?

Last edited: