What's new
What's new

College - Worth it?

hoertz

Plastic
I'm a machinist studying mechanical engineering at a university. This is my first semester and despite doing alright I'm thinking of quitting once exams are over.

My reason is that I find the things I learn mostly useless. Spending my days off sitting at classes and studying at home just seems like a big waste of time. I've done a quick count, out of the 7 classes there's only 2 that I really care about, Math and Engineering Drawing. Math is interesting, and, while I probably won't ever apply calculus in the real world, I'd happily visit the class even if I didn't attend university. I liked doing my Engineering Drawing homework, making drawings with pencils and rulers that is.

I'm a technical kind of guy, I'll list some examples of things I enjoyed doing:
A 2 axis text engraving generator, takes text, outputs G code.
A computer program that fetches bus schedules from the internet, lets me output and filter them in any format I like.
The ever ongoing process of getting to know my machine's controls inside out, reading manuals.
A few custom workpieces that I designed and manufactured.

No big deals, but still... Also, I had perfect grades in math, physics and computer science in high school. Machining-wise I have everything to learn, but I'm getting there slowly.

My dream job is either to work on a nice milling center doing one-offs, or being a CNC programmer-troubleshooter-debugger wandering the world, or working in a small shop doing tricky stuff every now and then, something like that. Maybe even having a shop of my own one day! I have the feeling that a degree on my resume would be less impressive for these kind of positions than a ton of interesting things I'd be doing. On the other hand, I hear people with a degree in their hands are being taken more seriously when applying to a job. I don't want to do any "sitting in an office" type of engineering, I want to work with machines.