What's new
What's new

Want to see if I can combine my machining with my medical

pocn

Plastic
Hello!

I got my first great job as a machinist when I was twenty. I always wanted to go into medicine but seemed to excel in machining and grew quickly in the field. I now currently have split about the past decade between being in EMS and machining. I tend to flip back and forth based on how much I enjoy the work and pay. I am not sure if it is even an option but I was curious if there is some way I can combine my knowledge of the two fields into one career.

I have have about 6 years of machining experience and have been an EMT for 5 years now. I am not sure of a way to combine them or if I should just proceed going into the medical field despite the low pay until I build up all that lovely school debt.

-Pocn

After high school I went to college with the intention of becoming a doctor.
Well that didn’t work out too well (beer and girls and...)

I find a lot of satisfaction in machining medical parts. Implants especially.
If I ever shut down my shop and went back to work for somebody I would only look for shops doing medical work.

So maybe something along the lines about what interests you in your EMT job?

curious if there is some way I can combine my knowledge of the two fields into one career.

If someone had told me that I had to forego learning and growing so that all I could ever have was TWO fields and ONE career at - say age 15? [1]

I suppose I'd have simply done my very best to shag and drink myself to death within the year at the horror of facing a whole lifetime of such limitations and their insane boredom.

As it was, I just treated than behaviour as a side effect, spread it out over another 12 years, and carried on with the important stuff that funded it.

Why do you think either one of those fields is the last new thing that will ever catch your interest? If you can already do BOTH, you've only just started.