What's new
What's new

Wanted: very thin, and small circular saw blade.

Margie

Plastic
I am in need of a very thin and small circular saw blade. Something on the order of .003 or less. Does anyone know where I can get this? I'm a jeweler and jeweler's supply companies do not have anything that thin.

I am in need of a very thin and small circular saw blade. Something on the order of .003 or less. Does anyone know where I can get this? I'm a jeweler and jeweler's supply companies do not have anything that thin.

When I read the thickness I think "razor blade". What is the material you wish to cut? I can imagine maybe a dentist working with something that thin.

We use .012 thick with a 2.5 OD and 1 inch hole. My supplier makes smaller diameter and thinner ones. Southern Carbide, try them.

Hey!
Just looked in the saw drawer , we have Thurston and Malco blades !
The Thurston website listed a .004 blade and Malco showed a .006 .
We have a .005 here from malco .
Thanks!
Dan K.

A typical razor saw with an ultra thin kerf is .008

You can find blades thinner than this, but they need be used in a fixed micro saw. You can't accurately control the blade in a freehand tool.

Watch lathe collets were made with holes as small as .1 mm, about .004 inch. The collets were made of tool steel and they have three saw slots entering the central hole. Those slots are really, really narrow. Someone made the blades for those slots.

A surface grinder can thin an existing blade, and it would probably need to be done wet.

Larry

FWIW, you might find it easier to catch and recycle the precious metal chips from a somewhat thicker saw with coarser teeth than the thinnest possible saw. Might also get a straighter cut, meaning less rework.

How deep do you need to go?

Saws can be thinned on the rim, only as much radial distance as necessary. I have done it but not quite to the extremes you envision.