What's new
What's new

Question about magnetic chuck

Buckeye Biker

Plastic
Well, as a newcomer to machining, I have no experience using magnetic chucks. I purchased one recently, with the idea of passing it on to a friend who has a surface grinder and has been searching for one. This chuck is about 5" wide by 12" long.

My question is this: Is there any safe application for using a magnetic chuck on a mill? I was not sure if the side forces during cutting operations would cause the material to be dislodged and thrown from the mill, or at least moved destroying accuracy.

If it is safe to use the mag chuck on a mill, I may decide to keep it and use it myself.

Thanks for any help or suggetions.

Tom

I advise against using a magnetic chuck on a mill. once you have gained much experience, you might find a safe way to hold a large steel or cast iron part while taking a tiny cut. But it is not a safe practice, in general.

Larry

Not sure about throwing, but your part will definatly skid along.

JL.................

Depending on the application Magnetic chucks can be very useful for workholding on mills.

For most applications a vise or clamps will probably be the best.

But for some applications a magnetic chuck make loading and unloading much easier. Most of the time this is for long think parts. We use magnetic chucks for several applications on mills in our shop.

We still use the backing plates to hold the part in place.

Many manufactures of magnets design them specifically for milling.

Alpha Workholding Solutions | A-Pod

Thanks guys! I think the best thing for me to do would be pass the mag chuck on to my friend to use with his grinder as I originally planned to do. I noticed it was fairly easy to skid a part sideways on the chuck while I was just trying scrap pieces to see how tight they gripped.