Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Utah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by sandiapaul View Post

The only thing I have not tried and was suggested is the prybar under the chuck. I have never done that before, how much pressure should I use? It seems like you could get it to move if you wanted to with enough pressure. I'd like to try this test, so any advice on how to carry it out would be great.
    You don;t have issues when you are using Chuck, so why even use this exercise? You ran a dial on the Collet and it dialed dead on to the taper so the mating surfaces are verified. It MIGHT give you an idea of the condition of the spindle bearings, at what cost????

Personally when people recommend "pry bars" AND indicators it sounds like using a Smelter to light a cigarette. I would not use a pry bar on recently rebuilt equipment, unless you want to do it again. HAND pressure would be enough to say a thing is wrong with the bearings, and the mating surfaces have been verified as Perpendicular and True.

R

2. Likes sandiapaul liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New York
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by litlerob1 View Post
    You don;t have issues when you are using Chuck, so why even use this exercise? You ran a dial on the Collet and it dialed dead on to the taper so the mating surfaces are verified. It MIGHT give you an idea of the condition of the spindle bearings, at what cost????

Personally when people recommend "pry bars" AND indicators it sounds like using a Smelter to light a cigarette. I would not use a pry bar on recently rebuilt equipment, unless you want to do it again. HAND pressure would be enough to say a thing is wrong with the bearings, and the mating surfaces have been verified as Perpendicular and True.

R