What's new
What's new

Whats the standard of knowledge to be considered a CNC machinist?

georgee1

Aluminum
I'd like to become a machinist in the trade. But right now I'm just a CNC operator. I understand the title "machinist" has been sort of watered down. Often times I'm looking through the job pages and notice they want to hire a machinist but really just want someone to operate.

So with this thread I was looking for more guidance or direction. I want to know what it means to be a CNC machinist that people on this forum can respect. What should I look to learn and be capable of doing? Do I have to have completed an apprenticeship?

I'm unsure what to do. I have 3 years of operating CNC experience. All 3 years were with different machines. I'm ready to leave my current position on 2nd shift because there isn't much learning to gain. It's just 2 guys and I'm the most experienced. I learn what I can on the overlap period we have with first shift. I spoke with the programmer on our swiss department and he reinforced my position and indirectly suggested to find a place that I can learn under more knowledgeable workers for more than just 2 hours a day.

So after deciding to leave, I question what my next position should entail to be on the path as a machinist. Should I look for a 4 year apprenticeship? Or can I become this without the apprenticeship. Or should I stack on what I already know, seek an operating job and get promoted into set-up, while taking CNC programming courses or any relevant classes for that matter.(i.e solid works/cad/mastercam)

Thanks for any responses !!

Finding a good apprenticeship will probably be difficult these days. I mean one in which you will actually be moved from machine to machine and spend enough time with each type of machine that you will actually learn as much as you should.