What's new
What's new

What's this steel hex bit-like piece with slotted end and angled cylinder?

Cannonmn

Stainless
img_5694.jpg
Yes rusty and dusty, will dunk in appropriate potions if worth the effort. Meanwhile there are a couple or few variants visible at top. Looks like base is cut so the ends of these will be parallel, and the slot looks like it is cut to be parallel to the ends. Are these specials or some kind of machinist's tooling I may suddenly need 6 years from now?

Last edited:
img_5694.jpg
Yes rusty and dusty, will dunk in appropriate potions if worth the effort. Meanwhile there are a couple or few variants visible at top. Looks like base is cut so the ends of these will be parallel. Are these specials or some kind of machinist's tooling I may suddenly need 6 years from now?

That would be called scrap.

Are you going to be starting a new thread for every one
of those bins you showed on a rack ?

I worked in a school for a while. The kids had a name for those - " Gone Wrongs ".

Regards Tyrone.
Brings up a very good point.

Just because they are nicely sorted into a bin don't mean they were
made correctly in the first place.
Could be someone dug them out of the scrap & chip bin because
they "Looked shiny" and thought they had some value.

Too many of them to be "Gone Wrongs". I still think they are OLD hold downs for a planer. Hammered into holes in the table,the bent tails would help the upper parts to grip work pieces.

Are you going to be starting a new thread for every one
of those bins you showed on a rack ?