What's new
What's new

Who draws the prints for your jobs?

Ray Behner

Diamond
I draw a ton of prints for the jobs I do. There's a lot of hydraulic crap that I make. Drawing those is pretty straight forward and doesn't take too long. I'm no engineer or draftsman....by a long shot, but I do have a puny little program that gets me by.
Now to the problem. I do modification to some stuff for a big company. I told them going in that I charge $100 an hour whether I'm making a print or machining. They're fine with that. I just told one eng. that I will now charge $150 an hour for drawing. He went a bit goofy over that. They aren't gonna like this shit! They not gonna like it one fuckin' bit! Oh well at 70 years old, I don't really give a rat's ass. Go somewhere else. Come on Ray, what gives? OK Joe here's what GIVES! If you and your pile of engineers would use one of you fifty or so computers to do a CAD drawing for me, I wouldn't have to charge you a cent. Now, if you just happen to mess up the print and the piece suddenly turns to scrap, I simply make another one and charge you again. Even though all of you guys supposedly know how to do it, you say you don't have time. You think I do! So here's the problem. I draw the print. I screw up the print. I lose all those hours and material. Now I start over at my expense. Don't you understand that it's a liability. This one job alone has 56 holes in just one of the plates. Some counter bored, some thru and some threaded. And away he went shaking his head.

Your thoughts?

I guess I am surprised at the reaction of the engineer. He should recognize that it is his job to produce workable error free drawings and that if you have to make workable drawings, there is something wrong on his end. Frankly, I don't think you are charging enough.