What's new
What's new

Yeong Chin Mill table * * HELP ? * *

Trollerudjan

Aluminum
Hello,
I was trying to help a friend with his mill yesterday. His mill table is out of line and he wants to straighten it... I'm no expert but I've never seen a mill table that has a scale implying it pivots 30 degrees each direction... see picture. We were doing a head stand for an hour yesterday loosening every set screw we found . We cannot figure out how the table is secured. Anybody out there please enlighten us

Thanks
Jan

Fres.jpg

Hello,
I was trying to help a friend with his mill yesterday. His mill table is out of line and he wants to straighten it... I'm no expert but I've never seen a mill table that has a scale implying it pivots 30 degrees each direction... see picture. We were doing a head stand for an hour yesterday loosening every set screw we found . We cannot figure out how the table is secured. Anybody out there please enlighten us

Thanks
Jan

View attachment 221088

Those "universal table" goods do not ordinarily get moved often. One use is to set up for cutting helical gears.

Fair chance it is glued in place by old coolant and rust. Once certain all means of locking have been released, a "zero" tram position pin also possible, a rap with a deadblow hammer may sort it.

Thanks Thermite,
This has also crossed out minds but none of the set screws seem to make any sence securing wize. I'd really like to know which which screws are locking it down.

Jan

Thanks Thermite,
This has also crossed out minds but none of the set screws seem to make any sence securing wize. I'd really like to know which which screws are locking it down.

Jan

My ones is on an old, and ridiculously tiny Burke #4 mill. The mechanism they used is bleedin' obvious, as it has ears with curved slots and clamp bolts not all that different from a swivel base for a vise.