D.C.Area Machine Shop Auction - 12/15/07

AntiqueMac

Hot Rolled
From another list, this was posted:

"Listing in local paper for a Machine Shop auction this Saturday (Dec 15) in
Manassas VA. Starts at 10 AM, whole place is being liquidated. Address is
7100 Gary Rd., Manassas VA. For more info and pictures go to
arringtonauction.com. Got mills, lathes, tooling and lots more."

This is not too far south of Washington, D.C.

The URL is < http://www.arringtonauction.com/auction_detail.php?ID=374875 >

Good luck!

Yea someone also posted it on the CAMS list serve also. None of them even think about the ramifications of their blabbering....like you say, they had no intention of going.:(

Last edited:
I am a newbie to this forum, although I have 35 years plus experience in metalwork, so I want to be careful what I say.

I am trusting the complaints of posting the information on the auction were in jest. The purpose of the forum and al the discussion is to benefit all who participate.

It is very self centered to keep auction information private in the interest of keeping down pricing hoping we can get a bargain. I freely share auction information even when I know the person I am sharing with may bid against me.

By making certain auction information is known among our peers so that all have a chance to participate we are raising the overall level of our avocation.

Just my 2 cents

First of all, I don't see why this auction was even posted here. Nothing antique is going to be sold at it, as far as I can tell from the listing.

I am trusting the complaints of posting the information on the auction were in jest.

Nope. And I'd probably be annoyed too, if there was a good auction near me and someone who had no intention of actually going was spreading word about it on the internet.

By making certain auction information is known among our peers so that all have a chance to participate we are raising the overall level of our avocation.