What's new
What's new

Lathe and Milling machine lubricants

Jeremy

Hot Rolled
I'd like to start a topic listing the various recommended lubricants for things like headstock bearings, way oils, and the like. Other things like good spray oils for rust prevention would be great as well (in my experience, WD/40 is horrible for long-term rust prevention, it just evaporates).

I have a Rockwell metal lathe and have been using lightweight turbine oil for the ways. Seems to work okay, but have heard it's not recommended. What do you guys use?

Include info about the size of machinery you use as well, as some things may apply to a big 36" lathe, but not a small 6" unit.

Jeremy,

I'm not a professional machinist but have been a home and semi-pro for many years.

In the past few years I have been equiping my shop with full size tools (lathe, mill-drill). I saw many discussions on this topic and heard many different ideas. I have purchased two oils for the lathe and mill from McMaster-Carr. They sell a spindle oil and a way oil. I bought a gallon of each. They were packaged by a company called Motor Oil, Inc.

The spindle oil is labeled Spindle Oil 22, 95-115 SUS. The label states it is for up to 3600 RPM. I believe they have another one for faster speeds.

The way oil is heavier and is labeled Way Lube 68, 300-350 SUS. In addition to the ways, I also use this on the lead screws, change gears, and on one countershaft bearing that leaks a lot.

Both are non detergent.

If you have ball or roller bearings, you will need a good ball bearing grease. I purchased a 1 pound tin of Lubriko Grease that was recommended by the local BB company. I have used this on the ball bearings in the spindle of my Unimat for over 30 years and it works very well. They still looked new the last time I disassembled.