What's new
What's new

1911 slide rails with surface grinder. Feel??

Alberic

Cast Iron
Hi guys,

Anybody else ever done their 1911 rails with a surface grinder? (I had one. I had time. Etc.)
The reason I ask: I *know* I'm within .0005" in terms of side-to-side fit, and it does indeed slide very nicely, but it feels almost too smooth, if that makes any sense. It slides much easier than equivalent lapped slides do, even lapped or milled slides that are a little looser. (about a thou, instead of half thou.) I thought I'd overshot somehow, but I checked the fit a couple of different ways, and side to side, I'm within about .0005". I've got about .001" clearance vertically, against the bottom face of the slide, also ground in.

Huh???

Puzzled,
Brian

PS--> Next question: Has anybody ever thought to carve/engrave oil grooves into their slide rails? I started out as a jeweler, I've got the powered engraver and microscope to do it... I use Brian Enos' slide grease (to great effect) and I've started wondering if it'd be worth the bother to put oil grooves into the slide rails. Opinions?
(the same kind of grooves you see on scraped machine guide surfaces. Just a whole lot smaller.)

Ever fired a handgun???? Or watched a high speed camera, showing a 1911 frame visibly flexing during firing??? Very visible on Glocks...

This video does not show it well, but notice bullet is out of bore, before slide even begins to move rearward enough to begin unlocking... Pistol Shot Recorded at 73, Frames Per Second - YouTube

I have also seen high speed xrays of 1911, showing the same thing...

Plenty of copper/brass shavings, powder residue/sludge. Slide grease........

Where in your finely fitted slide, do these byproducts of firing go??? Unlike a machine tool, a limited amount of power in operating cycle..

Sure you can build a 1911 slide and rail combo, fitted to less than a 10th..

You won't win any matches with it, if it won't reliably function...