What's new
What's new

.22lr How to thread for moderator/silencer

ivanthehunter

Plastic
Hi there lads This is my first post here so take it easy on this fool:rolleyes:
I want to thread my .22 rifle for a silencer but i dont have a clue where to start.
1/ Is it possible to do this at home with a hand operated tap and die set?
2/ should i leave it to the pro's or is it a relatively easy task for a complete novice?
3/What sort of equipment would the expert diy man use for this job and how much would that typically cost?

as i said lads i new to this thing. so go easy..
I would like to introduce myself, my name is Robert and I'm from Ireland
i work as a civil engineer on construction sites...
the interest in gun smithing comes form a INTERNET search for companies that still make the 220swift, they are few and far between.. Any way thats me..
Thanks for reading, i look forward to hearing the answer:o

Some folks on this board from the U.S. may be a bit reluctant to answer as silencers are illegal here without special licensing/tax stamp. However, information isn't illegal, and in the U.K. silencers are perfectly legal, so I don't have a prob giving advice. Do NOT attempt to thread your barrel for a moderator or silencer unless you have a lathe. You will never get it aligned properly. The silencer must be aligned very nearly parallel with the bore of your barrel or you will get baffle/endcap strikes, which will instantly destroy your silencer, and perhaps the end of your barrel. Have a gunsmith do this or do it in a lathe if you know what you're doing to keep it aligned as perfectly straight as possible.

I would mostly go along with what eKretz said...

I wouldn't say it's IMPOSSIBLE to do with a die by hand, but getting satisfctory results would be extremely unlikely! Heavy emphasis on extremely!