What's new
What's new

shorting a shotgun barrel

kz400

Plastic
A little background, I am a auto mechanic by trade and and an amateur gunsmith/machinist I recently got a 12ga SxS that was`cut down with a hacksaw, the barrel is 20+" I saw the choke reamers and taps but I do more rifle than anything and cant spend $300 on tools for a 100 gun (Boito made in Brazil). What is the correct way to shorten a barrel (I know the cut on mine isn't straight) How can I fill the space between the barrels? Is there a cheaper way to install some kind of choke. I dont mind spending a little money, I consider this a practice gun and am more concerned with learning than anything else. I only have 1.5" to work with (I want to keep it about 19" just in case) Any help would be appreciated.

All I would do is get a bright light, a good square, and a file to square up the barrels, followed by a deburr.

If you're adventurous, you could make a "reamer" to produce jug chokes, and now that I think about that, the gun you have is a perfect mule for trying this. Wouldn't cost more than your time and maybe a modified cylinder hone for small engines.

I would grind the muzzles to appear correct on a belt grinder. You could use a square but will have to take into account that the barrels are tapered and the muzzle face/barrel angle will be something greater than 90 degrees. I have filled the void between the barrels and the rib with epoxy putty that I have added soot to make it black.
Why do you want chokes in it? Cylinder bore is just fine for a close range gun like that.

Done this game on a practice shotgun.
$5.00 auction purchase, excelent piece to practice and learn on. The stock was broken, a hammer was missing, the locks would not stay cocked and there was a hose clamp around the barrels. Suprisingly, the hinge joint was still tigh. Lots of problems to corect and not valuable enought to worry about mistakes.