What's new
What's new

80% 1911 frames?

I'm pretty new to guns and shooting but have rapidly developed a strong interest. For various reasons, I've developed a particular interest in the "80% lower receiver", which seem to be available all over the place.

Has anyone here built a gun from one of these 80% frames? Specifically a 1911 .45 ACP?

Are 1911's generally standard enough that slide, barrel, trigger, etc, etc are pretty much universal?

I have a Ruger SR1911, which is the only 1911 I've handled enough to be familiar with. Using that as an example, would Ruger components be usable on one of these 80% frames once it's fully machined?

Next major question: So far, all of the 80% frames I've seen have a jig available intended for use without a mill. Suppose you DO have a mill, as I guess most here do - I do, an old round-ram Bport - does anyone know of specs, instructions, or even a jig intended for use with a mill?

I'm pretty hot to trot to build a 1911 using one of these 80% frames but am overwhelmed by the choices and don't want a half-assed result using essentially a makeshift method. Would love to hear input from you all here.

I've built two of them. It's a fun project. Most of them are close enough to standard that they will work with standard parts and minor fitting.

If you have a mill all you should need to do is drill the sear and hammer holes, machine the top of the slide down to spec and cut the rails.

I just finished an 80% 1911 frame and did it all on the mill without a jig. I consider myself an amateur machinist so if you know what you are doing with a mill then you should have no problem. Not all 80% frames are the same and some require some steps that others don't.

Thanks for the replies, fellas!

I didn't say that I know what I'm doing with a mill, just that I have one... LOL!

When finishing your frame, did you use an existing 1911 frame to measure? I could do that using my Ruger SR1911 for reference.