What's new
What's new

barrel boring and rifling

hello i am new to the forum. i recenty just purchased a 16 x 8 hendey gearhead lathe. i have pretty good machining experience but it was all hands on learned from trial and error by making almost every part imaginable for my chopper. now i am intrested in custom making some guns. i want to make a double barrel stainless shotgun, a some rifle barrels. i do not know were to look for internal gun parts and schematics and how to put the rifling in a barrel. If any body has any advice please share it with me because i am a beginner at gunsmithing.

thanks jason

Barrel rifling and boring are a bit of an art in their own right.

Most guys just buy a barrel. If you get a Brownell's catalog, you will find that even at full retail, a good grade barrel is pretty inexpensive. Otherwise, you could well spend the next few years of free time truing to build the equipment, or spend far more money on buying the equipment to carry out the same job.

What's your bubget like? Thereare a pile of books out there that detail various types of firearms, though few are of the "read the print, make the part" type.

Frank DeHaas has a line of books that details the internals of a lot of single shot rifles. There is a book out there on converting Double shotguns into double rifles. There is another line of badly written books that have quite a bit of good info, and some that is not so good, by on H Hoffman.

Look around the web a bit. There was some blueprints for the Winchester model 21 double on one of the collector club sites, a while back. I have not looked for them in a while, so they may or may not still be up.

Do a web search for Border Barrels. They have a little rundown on the methods ued that is a good read.
Guy Lautard sells a video and some paperwork that details a barrel drilling and boring machine. It is an interesting watch if nothing else.

Cheers
Trevor Jones