What's new
What's new

Cnc lathe choice for gunsmith work

cgmaster

Cast Iron
I have been looking at a Cnc lathe for gunsmith use. I am keeping my manual lathe also, for now.

I am trying to decide what is best. I plan to do the chambering, threading, possibly muzzles and engraving on the barrel. In addition the bar feeder I am considering making turned solid bullets.

I am looking hard at slant bed machines that are a little older with bar feeders. I am also looking at some of the flat bed "teach " lathes and Harding high precision lathes.

Also I am new to Cnc but already have a Milltronics vm17 which I use for some stuff and I have sold my manual mill due to not needing it any more.

Sometimes I also do other work for people making tools and light machine work. I guess I am trying to figure out it a slant bed lathe could do everything I want our if it would be better to have another flat bed lathe but with Cnc capabilities. Also if the older slant bed lathes could hold tolerance. Right now I am able to hold under .0005 reliably on my manual lathe. . Set up times are what really kills me time wise. I chamber and work the barrels on a steady rest. Would like to go through the headstock but my lathe is 27 inches through the headstock.

Any help or suggestions are welcome.

I have been looking very hard at 2 Hitachi Seki's, a Huyandai and a few Mazaks. On the flat beds I am looking at Milltronics and a Bridgeport Romi.

So far leaning towards a Mazak or if flat bed a Milltronics centurion 6. Which is the same control as my mill.

I also have inventor and hsm cam for inventor that seems to work well on my mill.

Thank you

Something to think about is the power required to convert to 3ph. The cost of my American Rotary RPC to power my 20 hp turning center was small compared to what I had to spend with my PoCo to upgrade my service to 400a.

Making solid bullets, if doing it for real, you're going to be looking at a Swiss turning machine.