What's new
What's new

Reducing barrel shank thread diameter

Blackthorn762

Plastic
Hi all,

While not at all new to guns and doing minor repairs, I am new to doing machine work in general and with guns in particular. I am currently planning out a benchrest project which involves mating a Turkish Mauser action with a Norwegian manufactured Mauser barrel chambered for .308. This is easy enough to do, though I need advise on the best way to reduce the thread diameter on the barrel - it will fit any standard Large Ring action (1.10 shank thread diamameter, 12TPI) - to fit the Turkish Mauser action, which is considered a Large Ring action, though threaded to Small Ring specs (.980 shank thread diameter, 12TPI).

So...what is the best way to reduce the shank thread diameter from 1.10 to .980 while retaining pitch and thread shape (60 degree V)?

Any suggests are greatly appreciated!

Have one...it's an Atlas 10F...just not all that familar with it's operation just yet. The shank threads are already cut, I need to know the best way to reduce the current thread diameter without reducing the diameter of the shank itself.

It will be harder and take longer than if you started with a blank shank on the barrel. After reducing the diameter .120 there will still be some of the old threads left aprox .060deep and to do it right you will have to capture the old threads so that the tool will cut in that old groove,pain in the arse.
You also need a depth mic to measure for the length of the shank.You will need a finish reamer and a set of go no/go guages to set the headspace.
This needs to be done on a lathe with thread cutting capabilities by an experienced operator.

This is not the best beginner's project.

I would get a large ring action and go from there