What's new
What's new

Grizzly DF-1237g opinions?

JHOSKINS

Plastic
Newbie here and I have read enough to know that oriental origin lathes are frowned upon by many here so I put this question here as my main purpose to purchase a lathe is to play around with some gunsmithing.

I was really considering an Eisen 1236gh as it is made in Taiwan which I know everyone says is a step up. I am also considering a new 4003g simply for the price/use value it will give me.

In my search, I ran across an older Grizzly 1237g in what appears to be near new condition with many of the main accessories. From what I can tell from my searching, the downside is that parts are hard to come by. Plus side it was made in Taiwan and seems to be good quality in consideration of what it is. They are asking $1400 for it and I can probably get it for less.

So my options right now are:

Eisen: ~ $5500 with options including dro.

4003g: ~ $3300 with my 10% coupon. No dro.

grizzly 1237g: ~$1400 no dro. I can run it before buying.

Is the extra money worth it or is the 1237 a reasonable contender for a home shop. I can afford the others, but don't really see paying more than I need to.

Your input is appreciated.

Just saw a Cant say the name of the machine on here but it's a bear. I had a student bring a bear mill to the class in Boston and the Bear factory used an angle grinder to match fit the column to the base. I WOULD STEER AWAY FROM ANY OF THAT JUNK. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

[to play around with some gunsmithing.]

With a steady, a 3 and 4 jaw and running well you should not have a problem getting back your money..and it will give a feel for a new hobby.