What's new
What's new

Grizzly lathes and Mills

huntgrouse

Plastic
I am a new member so this has probably been hased out before but here goes.
Has anyone had any experience with Grizzly machines?
Specifically the G0554 14" x 40" Lathe and the G9902 9" x 49" Vertical Mill w/ Power Feed & Single-Phase

looking at adding soem equipment and these seem to be pretty well set up. I would add DRO to both.
I have a Clausing 12x36 and Clausing mill but they are getting on in years.
I am a gunsmith 25+ years) and use these two machines regularly.
Thoughts, experiences???

They do look nice but I think if I had been running the same machines for 25 years I would just do them the honor of a rebiuld. Thats just a thought I have no experience.
Good luck however it goes. clint

I have owned a Grizzly 9249 lathe for about 9 months now. I am very happy with it. Barrel blanks through the spindle are no problem for it. Yes it looks cheap in places but it has precision where it counts. Grizzly also has an excellent reputation customer service wise.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/G9249

Jet makes the same 14x40 machine but it has better quality switches, motor and wiring. I have the Griz and am happy with it BUT I've repalced all the switches and motor already, Still tighter then a worn-out iron,

I have a 9" Grizzly Lathe and it is worth much more to me than what I paid for it. It has made back what I paid for it many times over. It is far from perfect but that will make you that much better a lathe hand as you compensate for it's shortcomings. Would I buy another one...Yes.