What's new
What's new

Home Built Rifling Machine

I said in the thread begun by Zane (who was looking for a rifling machine) that I would try to post some pictures of the rifling machine I recently completed. This is my first attempt at posting pictures here so please bear with me. Hope this all works!

Riflingmachine22.gif

Riflingmachine23.gif

Riflingmachine24.gif

Riflingmachine25.gif

Provided this works, I will follow up in an additional post describing the machine. Cheers!

Perk in Cincinnati

Well, I guess I must have done something right since the pictures did come through!

This project began with the assembly of the carriage and rails that was given to me by a friend who got it as an unfinished project of a deceased neighbor. Since my friend didn't seem to have the time or energy to finish it, he gave it to me. I initally thought the rails were on the light side, but it has worked out OK. I had to finish the ball bearing pull handle, the sine bar, all of the slide fittings, the rack, the mountings and aluminum plate, the inboard indexing chuck, and the outboard rotating chuck. I have not yet tried the machine out. I am on the learning curve here and intend to start by reaming out some old barrels and then re-rifling them to a larger caliber. I have yet to tackle the technical aspects of making the reamers and reaming, and making and using the box cutters (one step at a time).