What's new
What's new

Hypothetical Questions for Gun Manufacturing

Zack Lujan

Plastic
I am a business student and would like to one day either own a medium to large firearm manufacturing firm or become an upper level manager for a large firearm manufacturer. More on to the point in one of my classes I have to research the pros and cons of three CNC machines that could be used to design, manufacture, and prototype firearms. I'm mainly thinking like AR-type prototyping (ACR advancements, AR-10, AR-15, piston designs, direct impingement designs, and just moderate advancements on current firearm styles) and producing polymer framed handguns in 10mm, 9mm, .357-SIG, .45-ACP, and .22 LR training pieces. Additionally, the machines should have the capability to rough cut all items to be custom matched and fitted on personal, special edition, and customized weapons. I would also like machines capable of machining "semi-custom" and rough cut 1911 frames and slides. Remember, this is a hypothetical, so money isn't a HUGE object, but flexibility is extremely important as I don't want to have to "recommend" 3 machines for rifles, 3 machines for pistols, and still have to retain 15 hand milling stations.

The background on this hypothetical company is that they produce mid to high end products to be used by military, police, civilians, and contractors. The company will retain 5 of the 25 milling stations for custom work and will still have about 30 gunsmiths to work on custom pieces, fitment, assembly, and repair. The goal is to replace the 20 oldest milling stations with up to 10 brand new five axis(?) CNC machines that can speed up output and reduce waste (increasing profitability).

Personally, I am looking at Okuma, Toyoda, and Tormach right now, but I would like feedback from people who have more knowledge of the process and necessary abilities.

Advice, help, ideas. Anything is welcome.