What's new
What's new

Indicating a 6 groove rifle barrel with long stem indicator

zombiedfens

Plastic
Hello,
I am by no means a professional, just doing this as a hobby. So please forgive me if this is a stupid question. I am setting up a rifle barrel in my lathe for threading and chambering. I am using a long stem interapid indicator to center the barrel. The barrel in question has 6 grooves and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to indicate using my 4 jaw chuck and rear spider. I have 4 points of adjustment yet 6 readings I need to dial in upon? Any hints or tips to get this done?

If i where takling it i would put a plug in the end and locate off that, light tap fit with a slight taper at some point along to. Make it out of aluminum or bronze so it won't damage the bore go in a reasonable distance.
Not too tight you want to be able to get it out easily.
otherwise mark the chuck with paint pen for the land 1 to 6 and piece of paper for the runout figures and move the chuck just like normal except where it is inbetween you move 4 jaws in stead of just two. Think about it, should be straight forward, the paint marks on the chuck will help.

Whole bunch easier than one of those 5 groove things.

Start with using the grooves in one axis, and the lands in the other, to get close. Then you just need to be looking at all 6 and forming a picture of what you've got in your head.

Odds are the lands and grooves won't be lined up dead on with the chuck jaws anyway. But within 10 or 15 degrees isn't going to make a big difference in dialing it in.

Take it slow, tiny increments, and keep things barely snug until you're dead on at both ends. Then tighten it up in tiny increments, watching the alignment. If you tighten it up first and then try moving it you'll warp the barrel in the spindle and have no idea where it's all going to be when you take it out.