What's new
What's new

Lathe SB 13" vs 10L

spitfire_er

Aluminum
I currently own both lathes. 1st is a fully restored 1951 toolroom 10L with a taper, fully tooled, and 4.5' bed.

The other is a fairly well tooled 1968 tool room SB 13" with a 6' bed, so 40" CTC. Hardened bed, in good shape, but I have not restores it yet.

Other than size, they are both equally capable. I know the CTC difference, the spindle length, and speed difference. And lastly the weight diff.

If I had to keep only one, is there a big advantage to one over the other as far as doing gunsmith work?

Qualifier: I've been building custom rifles for 10 years and learned under 2 master for several years. Not new to building high end rifles, just trying to decided if the day comes I need to sell one, which it would be. I have not used them both enough on barrels to compare.

If you do all your work through the headstock then the 10. Spindle holes should be the same. I have a 13 looking for a 10.

Check the spindle bearings. Put a dial indicator on the chuck and pry it up with a 2X4 or whatever. If you get much more than .002" movement, you have a problem. The bronze bearings need a little clearance for the oil to circulate through, but not much. If you have not been religious about lubrication, the bearings are probably worn.

Bill

What about spindle inside diameter? Is one significantly larger than the other?
They are the same.

Check the spindle bearings. Put a dial indicator on the chuck and pry it up with a 2X4 or whatever. If you get much more than .002" movement, you have a problem. The bronze bearings need a little clearance for the oil to circulate through, but not much. If you have not been religious about lubrication, the bearings are probably worn.

Bill