What's new
What's new

Layman's question about materials for reloading ammunition

Oldwrench

Titanium
Let me stipulate right up front that although I am a machinist with 40 years' experience I'm neither a shooter nor a gunsmith. I was taught to fire and field-strip an M14 half a century ago, and that the rounds were inserted in the magazine with the sharp end toward the front, but that was the extent of the training. Anything beyond pulling the trigger was higher-echelon responsibility. So I am without expertise, and to some of you this will perhaps seem a dumb question.

Lately I have been hearing about government efforts to ban, or at least establish obstacles to the manufacture of, lead. Assuming that the projectile part of the cartridge is not recoverable, the reloading of used brass has to involve buying or making new projectiles. I gather that ammunition could become scarce fairly rapidly if those weren't available and that that is, or ought to be, of some concern. So, is there any reason other than weight that bullets are made of lead? I'm assuming part of it is cheap and rapid production via forming. If they became scarce, would bullets machined from steel, brass or aluminum be viable substitutes? Please go easy, I'd really like a professional answer.

Check up on the term "sectional density".

There are good reasons to use a heavy material . Form factor is one, but ballistic performance is another.

Then there is "obturation" ......

Just lots of very good reasons. Lead being abundant and inexpensive makes the selection obvious.