What's new
What's new

Machining a chassis

ukraina_lviv

Plastic
Hey guys,
I'm an engineering student in college and on a college kids budget, but fortunately have lots of "free" time, so I'd like to try my hand at machining a chassis for my Remington Long action rifle. I'd like to try my hand at the Remington RACS lightweight chassis, but I need the specs for it if anyone has them that'd be great.
Thanks guys,

Well your first step would be to find out WTF a "chassis" is doing on a firearm. With this level of knowledge, give it up.

Chassis have been used on firearms since the late 1970's and are used on some of the most accurate rifles in the world as well as all of the bolt action rifles currently in service with the US military and NATO allies except France who are still using the FR F2 sniper rifle which is getting replaced with the PGM mini Hecate a rifle that uses a chassis.

Remington Defense RACS Chassis - EuroOptic.com

tdmidget, the above is what he is referring to. At some secret ratio of metal to wood/graphite/foam/fiberglass a stock becomes a chassis

ukrania lviv

"need the specs for it" Are you kidding?

I found the below in a few minutes

•Material: T7075 Aluminum
•Overall Length: 36.4″ to 39.2″
•Overall Length Folded: 28.25″
•Weight: 6.1 lbs.
•LOP Adjustment: 2.0″ (More with Optional Recoil Pad Spacers)
•Comb Adjustment: 1.5″

You already have an action.
Time to start measuring that action, and then do your homework.

It is a worthwhile project if you take the concept and then design your own. This should involve considering all the alternative design choices, understanding the design choices you made, why you made them, and be able to explain the choices to someone who knows nothing about the firearms or engineering.

If all you want to do is copy what someone else did you ought to rethink that engineering major.

If all you want to do is copy what someone else did you ought to rethink that engineering major.