What's new
What's new

Everyone knows what a "Gunsmith" is, but HOW do you explain what a machinist is?

gratewhitehuntr

Plastic
Everyone knows what a "Gunsmith" is, but HOW do you explain what a machinist is?

There appears not to be an OT, and I'm putting it here because, frankly, I've always wanted to be a gunsmith, and as a little boy was actually MAD that Browning was born before me LOL.
I do have it in mind to do some serious smithing soon enough, I'd like to build an AR with folding buffer tube, pistol version, similar to the "35 AR", basically a necked-up blowed-out 7.62x39 case and .35Rem projectiles.
Not just that, but I'd like it to shoot cheap cast bullets..... but I digress....... pistol length due to a Logan 820.... ok now I digress....

After a injury in construction I've been retraining myself as a machinist, for 3 years now.
People ask "What the heck is THAT?" I don't know what to say!
If I told people that "I'm retraining myself to be a gunsmith" they would know exactly what I meant, even if they had no idea what the actual operations entail.

My current strategy is to name some specialties, gear cutting (gears=$$$), engine work, die makers (car body panels and cookie sheets), tool makers (drillbits)
Is there something I'm missing?

Golly I'd like to just say gunsmith.... but the politics... you know... and I'm not specializing in firearms (though PCP airguns are high on my list)
Help me out guys? What the heck IS a machinist?

I'll be posting a thread in the next month or so with my new shop...just let me finish the LED lights and RPC panel... suffice to say I won't be threatened with banninnation for uttering "HF" (again).

Last edited:
A machinist is one who operates a machine tool.
Every machinist is on a different level of knowledge.
Me, 55 years and still learning.

If you search, there are many many of these threads.

If you're in the UK, a machinist is anyone that runs a machine including ladies doing production on sewing machines.