What's new
What's new

Making minature cannons.

ibrich

Plastic
I am looking for plans for minature cannons, all types. I am new at all of this and need some projects to learn on.
Thanks,
ibrich

Decide what you want to shoot (if anything) and find a piece of 4140 or any piece of quality steel and bore it for your ammunition source. Make your own design---you might be surprised at your results. You can do it just be careful.

I am afraid of of mystery metal on this type of project. A piece of stress proof is good quality metal but lacks hoop strength for a cannon. You might end up with a pipe bomb. I have had good results with bronze and brass as well as 4140.

Make sure you only use BLACKPOWDER ONLY.

Buy any set of cannon plans and just scale the dimensions down. I got a set from Dixie Gun Works back in the early 70's. The pic shows 3/8 scale and 1/2 scale cannons next to the full scale mountain howitzer. A couple ship cannons in the foreground. You can make them any size you want from the full size plans. All you need is a calculator.

Attachments

• Cannons3.1.jpg
    Cannons3.1.jpg
    27.3 KB · Views: 3,663
  • Cannons.1.jpg
    Cannons.1.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 2,337
  • Boye & Emmes.JPG
    Boye & Emmes.JPG
    45.7 KB · Views: 5,932
  • Cannons2.JPG
    Cannons2.JPG
    52.8 KB · Views: 2,702
making small cannons

do you think I could find some plans for a breach loader cannon? I am trying to get a lot of ideas. My friend said the black powder cannons were very hard to keep clean.
ibrich

yes you could find some eather through the information provided on several threads to you or searching the web.

Muzzle loading cannons, especially minature ones, are not hard to clean. Cap and ball revolvers are a PITA to clean.

Just mix up some vinegar and windex and it cuts the blackpowder residue real easy, watch out for the smell though,

I believe a breech loading cannon would be considered a destructive device by the ATF and subject to regulation and tax.