Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Making a Remington 700 Action?

Halcohead is offline Stainless

Since this thread got resurrected, I thought it might be worth mentioning that I have completed (well enough for myself at least) the plans for the action I will be making. I have the material (4140 heat treated to RC 30-32 for the receiver and RC 35-37 for the bolt). There is enough for 3 receivers and 4 bolts. There was enough for 4 receivers, but the toolbit caught while putting int he barrel threads on the first receiver blank, so it had to be scrapped.

After the research I did, I believe it would be pretty easy to fabricate your own bolt with a bolt face small enough to accept a .223 cartridge. That said, I have also heard of them already existing (Remington makes .223 extractors for the 700 action).

As for why I didn't just get an existing action, well there are a host of reasons. For one, I am a college student, and it isn't legal to have gun parts, let alone a gun on campus, where much of the design work was done. Secondly, I don't have the money for buying the action (I'd rather sink that money in tooling for my shop or materials for subsequent actions), and also yes, copying an exiting action would have turned this into a pure machining project, without any of the fun of the design work. That's no good.

In the end I used Stuart Otteson's excellent references on bolt action rifles. The first book is better than the second, although the Newton rifle definitely had some interesting design quirks.

A picture of the SW model for the current design is below. I'll do a writeup of the fabrication of the action when it is done (college keeps getting in the way. I only have time to work on break).
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails action-final-test.jpg  

ArmySGT. is offline Aluminum