What's new
What's new

Mobil 1 for gun oil?

good morning.

i am a gun builder.

i like to use 'gun oil' or 'machine oil'.

motor oil has additives that hold water in suspension. gun and machine oil don't.

while i am sure that it will work, i would not use motor oil on any of my guns. my dad did his whole life and he had few rust problems, etc. he also sprayed his guns with wd-40 to protect them, which is another thing i would not do unless they had gotten wet. wd-40 is a water displacement thing and is less than stellar as a lubricant. it does work pretty good as a machining fluid for aluminum, and in some cases as a penetrant.

it isn't my place to tell you what to do, but stop and think for a moment. you have a gun. it cost you $1k. is it worth the minimal saving you would realize by *not* using a proper oil or lubricant you did not specify exactly what you would use it for. there is a reason that there are different kinds of oils and lubricants. i have seen lots of posts over the years from people who want to use bar and chain oil on machinery. my suggestion would be to use whatever the manufacturer advised or a good oil made for the purpose that you are using it for.

good luck with whatever you do.

peace.
billr

I like synthetics but I'd have to be really sure before posting a knee-jerk reaction answer to this one.
A lot of really high-end synthetics do not have all the additives inherent in conventional automotive oils.
I used Castrol Syntron-X in a competition motor & because of the lack of additives the oil change was theoretically at lower mileage than with a conventional oil & I still used a Molybdenum-Disulphide additive for when the sump baffle couldn't keep up & delivery failed!
I'd have to research this before expressing an opinion, you could ask the oil manufacturer what goes into it.
Synthetic is inherently better for the job for which it is specified because it means the mollecule required is built for the job for which it is designed.