What's new
What's new

Pistol Frame Material

Danimal300

Plastic
I have been designing some pistol frames in CAD/CAM. They are basically copies of STI 2011 and SW Bodyguard 380, but with some small changes here and there, mostly to accommodate custom grips and features. The dimension of the rails remain exactly the same as the stock pistols so that I can use stock components in the builds. I want the STI to be a 9mm, so low pressure, lower recoil than 45. These are just for me, and just for fun, so they just need to be safe.

I am looking at what material to machine them out of. The STI site states 4140 heat treated to 28-32 Rockwell for their frames. That seems pretty low hardness, but I understand that they probably need to be higher strength, lower hardness to minimize the chance for cyclic fracture. The SW specifies stainless steel. I am a hobby machinist, and have not had the best luck with stainless steel or that would be my choice.

Looking at the cost of 4140 and if I am only shooting for a 9mm/380, what would be a good cheap alternative? This is a test of ability for me, and there is a good chance that they will end up in the scrap bin. But if by chance they make it through it would be nice to have something that will last a while and is safe to shoot.

The 28-32 Rc hardness level is more then enough, those frames could also be made out of aluminum then hard coat anodized.

I have built a 2011 out of aluminum and type II anodized it to around .0007 which was as thick as I could get it. I have had no problems with it, but for some reason I still just prefer the ones that I have built from steel. I purchased 80% frames, and got really comfortable with the whole build process.

would 1018 be a bad choice? For the 380 there are some cuts that I need to use a 1/16th end mill and make some kinda tight little turns.

would 1018 be a bad choice? For the 380 there are some cuts that I need to use a 1/16th end mill and make some kinda tight little turns.