What's new
What's new

Precision Threading on Muzzle Brakes

Fiddler2068

Plastic
Hi guys,

I am totally new to machine tools. I was wondering if someone can point me toward how muzzle brake threads are machined so that the top, which has ports on it, always ends up on top when screwed onto the barrel?

Book or video is fine. I'm not trying to get someone to give me details on how to perform such a operation. I am designing a muzzle brake and was wondering how that was done or whom I should talk to to get that done properly.

Thanks

Fiddler

Thread it like normal and keep cutting away the shoulder until the brake clocks in the right orientation.

Please add a location to you profile per forum rules.

Wouldn't different rifles have different orientation where the thread ends? How do they sell brakes without customization of each brake or rifle so the brake would sit right?

Wouldn't different rifles have different orientation where the thread ends? How do they sell brakes without customization of each brake or rifle so the brake would sit right?

Do you think each barrel installed on the same model of firearm has the same "clocking" of the thread? I assure they do not.

Typically a washer is used to take up any distance between the muzzle device and the should er behind the thread. Look up "crush washers" and "peel washers"

Cut the threads as normal. Test the muzzle device while the barrel is still set up in the lathe. Determine how many degrees it needs to turn in order to time correctly. With a bit of simple math, calculate how much the shoulder needs to be set back to allow the device to time correctly.

No, that's what I couldn't figure out. So the answer is just a crush washer. That's great. So the maker for the muzzle brake or any threaded item that needs to be in a certain orientation can then just manufacture and the end user just uses a crush or peel washer and tighten to proper orientation. Got it.