What's new
What's new

Rechambering Problem

rcordis

Plastic
Hello all:

This is my first time posting to this forum.

I recently had a customer who brought me a rifle with stainless barrel chambered to 6.5-06. He wanted it rechambered to 264 Win Mag. I rented a live pilot reamer from 4D which they told me had just been sharpened. I dialed in the barrel on my 4 jaw chuck with a grizzly rod to within .0002", used a floating chamber reamer holder and lots of Tap Magic. I followed PTG's recommendation of 120 RPM on the lathe.

The reamer cut very easily and the chamber has a great finish. I put the barrel back on the receiver and hand reamed the last .010" by hand. But, it came out oversize at the breech. Fired brass is within SAAMI spec at the shoulder, but its .007" over maximum just ahead of the belt.

I have chambered dozens of barrels in the last 5 years, but this is the first that I've done with a floating chamber reamer holder. Somebody mentioned to me that feeding the reamer too fast with a floating reamer holder will cause the chamber to be oversize.

Does anybody have any experience with this? I owe this gentleman a new stainless, fluted, PAC-NOR barrel and it's pushing $600.00. I would appreciate anyones advice as I don't want to make this mistake again.

Many thanks.

Rob

Had you zeroed the tailstock before running? If it was off too far the floating holder may not have had enough float. The floating holder was clean and not worn out?
Was the recess for the belt in the barrel oversize by the same amount? When you finished reaming by hand could something have been rubbing inside the receiver to push the reamer off center?
Just some things I would ask myself so I would not do it again.

A "floating reamer holder"? One like a Bald Eagle or one that mounts in the tail stock? In the past 20 years I don't believe I've set the head space by "hand reaming" more than 5 or 6 times.