What's new
What's new

Rimfire Drum Magazines

capital7

Cast Iron
Hello everyone,

I've posted here a few times with great response from many of you, and hope you have more valuable insight in this topic.

I am a CAD designer in Canada, so magazines are restricted to 5 rounds for rifles, and 10 for pistols, except for the case of rimfire rifles with magazines that can not be used in pistols in which there is no limit, (and after the Ruger situation we lost the 10/22 drums....) this is where the drum magazine comes in.

I would like to design a drum magazine or helical magazine (like the Russian Bizon SMG) for a rimfire rifle (Possibly designing a rifle for it as well off of a tried and tested design, but I digress)

I understand the difficulty of using a rimmed cartridge in this configuration, but surely there must be ways around this and my hopes are that I can rack your brains on the most effective and reliable system of doing this.

Thank you in advance,
Pictures, personal preferences and suggestions are always welcome!

I would also like to add hat I will not be doing ANY manufacturing of these until I have a good design and an okay from the government.

What is the "Ruger" situation you refer to and why are 10/22 drums/ sticks an issue? Seems like they should meet the criteria you described. Sorry for my ignorance, I don't keep up much with what goes on with this sorta stuff north of the border, too much to worry about here!

Sorry, I should have been clearer with that, the issue was the introduction of the Ruger Charger. the 10/22 pistol. since the magazines fit it, then the capacity of the magazines is limited to 10, regardless of what rifle you are using them with.

Ah, I'm pretty familiar with the 10/22 rifle, great shooters. I had not realized they came out with a pistol based on it. I see the problem, that sucks! Thanks for clearing things up though.