What's new
What's new

Lathe shopping .... thoughts?

mscott

Plastic
I've decided to add a lathe to my shop and found this forum. I'm not in or going into busuness ..... this is just for my own hobby. I'd like to take care of threading my own barrels and possibly make a couple of form 1 suppressors. So far I've found these on Craig's List that are close enough.
ATLAS Metal Lathe
South Bend Lathe

I realize you can't say much without being there, but am I looking at adequate machines? The prices seem fair to me, but I'm just getting started in my shopping. My budget is about $1,000.

Both work well in shop with firearms
I use a south bend 9" I have owned lathe that would swing 48" and 200" cc. I also ran lathe with swing of 112" x 300" cc.
Larger the the lathe the more work, space and cost. It best to size the lathe for your work. If you are just working on hand gun a small 7 x 12 will work. If you plan on working on blackpowder rilfe get a a 36" cc lathe. Both lathes you are listing will do all the work for a gunsmith. A larger hole lathe is nice but the cost just goes up and the one or two time you may need that size its just not worth the space just sub out and save your money.

Dave

I've decided to add a lathe to my shop and found this forum. I'm not in or going into busuness ..... this is just for my own hobby. I'd like to take care of threading my own barrels and possibly make a couple of form 1 suppressors. So far I've found these on Craig's List that are close enough.
ATLAS Metal Lathe
South Bend Lathe

I realize you can't say much without being there, but am I looking at adequate machines? The prices seem fair to me, but I'm just getting started in my shopping. My budget is about $1,000.