What's new
What's new

Milling radius in scope rail blank

rcampbell

Plastic
Hey guys, I'm just getting into some hobby machining. I've got a little Sieg X3 mill. I got an EGW scope rail blank that I want to mill the bottom of to fit an action that I have.The diameter of the action is 1.457". My milling machine head doesn't tilt. I was wondering if it would be OK to mount the rail vertically and using a boring bar set at the right radius to mill the bottom of this scope rail blank?

Buy a set of XXX high weaver rings and I believe its a #63 weaver base. Clamp the rings on the base without the ring tops. Clamp the 63B in your mill vice and mill off one side of the ring tops. Loosen the vise and turn the base and rings around in the vice and mill the other side the same. This will center the stub you create on your rings side to side in your mill vice. Then you can put the base into your inventory and sell it to some fool with a marlin 336. To mill short bases set it up as to photo. To mill long bases invert your vise on an angle plate on the mill table and use both rings to hold the base to be modified. Find center and the radius you want to cut, set up your boring head and have at it. If you can justify it go out and buy a heavy metal anti vibration boring bar. I have one which I think I got from Kennemetal. I believe its 9/16ths x 8 inch. It does a wonderful job with no chatter and you can use it in the lathe or mill to true action cylinders if you like to true them up. Some guys make special fly cutters to do this as well and they work fine. You can make a fancy jig to hold the base and I have done that in other shops but the weaver rings work equally well especially if your on a budget. Plus if you do a lot of bases at once the weaver rings are more handy to work with. I can modify a couple dozen of the #55 or #45 weaver base for the stripper clip hump in a half hour or less from start to finish.