What's new
What's new

What kind of steel to make a hammer or firing pin of?

Robbie

Plastic
I'm kinda new to machine tool (two semesters) and haven't got into the types of steels and what their properties are yet (I need a book on this). What type of steel would be best to make a hammer or firing pin of? I need something that won't deform or break and can take several blows in fast succession like a semi-auto could do. What would hold up to repeated pounding and not break or deform, A2, D2 or some sort of spring steel? This part will be small and the way it is made extra material for reinforcement can't be left on it and weight is not an issue. Any suggestions?

I have made parts that need the same properties as a firing pin or hammer. I made them from "S" series tool steel, the "S" stands for shock resisting. I had to send my parts for heat treating but for one small part I think you could harden it yourself with an oil quench and temper with a lower temp.Practice heat treating on some scrap pieces until it's tough and hard.

WELCOME TO THE TRADE!!!

If it is really small, you can make it out of mild steel and case harden it. The case will penetrate almost the whole thing which will make it sufficiently strong. You could also make it from 4140 and not need to harden it.