What's new
What's new

Is there a best guess for what recoil buffers are made from?

Trboatworks

Diamond
I need to make up some recoil buffers which are used in a semi auto match pistol.

I have some samples but as they are quite old I cannot trust what the intended give is in the material (these seem like hard plastic).
These particular buffers are for the Sako Triace match pistol in .22 lr.

Here is one:

image.jpg

Here is installation diagram(#74):

image.jpg

Thanks all

I need to make up some recoil buffers which are used in a semi auto match pistol.

I have some samples but as they are quite old I cannot trust what the intended give is in the material (these seem like hard plastic).
These particular buffers are for the Sako Triace match pistol in .22 lr.

Here is one:

View attachment 209941

Here is installation diagram(#74):

View attachment 209942

Thanks all

I have no experience with that particular pistol, but most buffers are polyurethane. The durometer varies from soft (probably 30-ish) to pretty hard (~60) with the hard ones lasting the longest and the soft ones having the best feel to the shooter.

GsT

This may/may not help but we used to use a pour-able urethane compound from Devcon called Flexane that was fast curing and available in 30-90 durometer for nesting in secondary tooling operations. Make a mold out of plaster, wax, or even cardboard and pour the stuff in. Set a small light bulb next to it to help with the cure and you can experiment with different compounds to find the right hardness. They make many different compounds and the stuff worked great for temporary applications.