What's new
What's new

threading barrel tool recommendation

hdt4916

Plastic
Dear All,

I am new to the metal hobby. I would like to know what threading tool to buy in order to do a barrel threading job (1/2" 28tpi, 5/8" 24 tpi). Does it matter which tool to get for different toolpost size (BXA or CA)?

I was looking at MSC and couldn't figure out what I need to get. Any helpful recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
hdt

If you really feel like abusing yourself you could even use an old lantern toolpost instead of those fancy quick change toolposts that you listed. You can get a lantern tool post and some holders really cheap because almost everyone hates them.

Seriously though, Get anything that will hold a HSS bit perpendicular to your work, grind the HSS bit to 60 degrees. Use your threading gauge (often sold as a "fish tail") to get the angle right and practice. You will pick it up in no time. Look on youtube, piles of videos.

Best of luck.

Tool post size is largely irrelevant.
BXA tool holders will not grip quite as large a tool as a CXA, but select a tool holder that is approprate for the swing of your lathe. Get one that is too big and the tool wont drop below the center line of spindle.

If you chose to use a insert type threading tool, pay atention to the part number code. The tip radius of the tool is indicated in that code, and you will need a small tip to cut 24 to 28 tpi threads. Larger tip radii are use for larger threads.

A simple 60 degree triangular insert can be used to thread, if you dont have to get close to a shoulder, and the tip radius is fine enough. I have been known to use them to rough out a thread and chase over it with a die to be sure I had it right.