What's new
What's new

Threading barrel for flash suppressor, need help!

ARAKUZI

Plastic
Hello,
Sorry my ignorance, I'm just learning things between gunsmithing and metal lathe work.

I have a project right now, cut a HK SL8-1 rifle barrel, and install a 3" flash suppressor on it to give a total legal 16".
The suppressor will have the AR-15 thread.

My big problem is: What should I use to thread it? lathe or die?

Also, anyone know the spec for the AR-15 thread? My gauge shows 28tpi and 1/2"OD for the AR-15's barrels....can't find any die with this numbers.

Thanks in advance and Happy Holidays!
Ed

Ed,
Brownells should have the 1/2"-28 die.The lathe would normally cut a more accurate thread assuming the lathe is in good shape and the machinist knows what he is doing.You could set up the receiver in a 4 jaw chuck with a steady rest close to the end of the barrel.Use a cats head to protect the finish on the barrel and shims around the receiver.Thread at a slow rpm.Practice on some scrap before attempting to thread the barrel.The prudent thing to do would be to thread the end of the longer barrel before you cut it just in case you run into threading problems.You'll have to look up your min and max pitch diameter for a 1/2"-28 thread and buy a set of thread wire gages if you want to cut an accurate thread.

Be careful that you attach the flash suppressor with an ATF approved method ,I believe they list the approved temperature for high melting point silver solder at their site,and I believe using a blind pin or tack welding is alright.Check the FAQ section to be sure.

One problem that you might encounter is a hard outer skin on the barrel,I've heard that some of the pistol barrels are hard to cut a decent thread on.

Good Luck!

[This message has been edited by Barry Briscoe (edited 12-14-2002).]

Thanks Barry,

I did remove the barrel out of the receiver ( I made a toll for it...HK want $1k for this tool), so I can attach the barrel to the 3 jaw chuck.