What's new
What's new

Truing a Remington Action

fergi

Aluminum
I’m new to lathe work and am trying to gather the tools necessary to “TRUE” a Remington 700 action. For those who don’t know, this would involve correcting an internal 1.0625 X 16 thread with a special jig that holds the action so that it turns around the bolt raceway. The thread cutting tool will have to reach inside the action to a depth of approximately 1 inch. I don’t mind spending the extra money for a tool that makes the job easier or does a better job. What would be the best tool for cutting an inside thread of this size?

Since you are new to the lathe I would suggest making your own fixtures as you will need the practice. There is also much more to truing an action then just recutting the treads. I would recommended some reading, The Complete Illustrated Guide to Precision Rifle Barrel Fitting, by John Hinnant; is a good book. It goes into how to make all the fixtures you will need.

I prefer the Gre Tan tools. You need a true machined surface to start. The Gre Tan tools ream the raceway and as the reamer pushes out the bushing you have a rod sticking out to indicate the raceways to the axis of your lathe spindle. He has a fixture to hold your receiver that allows you to use 2 indicators to indicate and adjust the raceways to run coaxial to the lathe spindle. Single point your threads to straighten them, face your shoulder and face your lugs, all in one setting.
With todays prices on custom receivers, it doesn't make sense to blueprint a receiver and do the other work necessary to make it comparable to a custom.
Butch

Thanks Butch,