What's new
What's new

Profiling a barrel blank

TJScharp

Aluminum
I am a machinist in northern Alberta Canada.
I am looking to do some of my own rebarreling work on the side.
My question is in regards to the specific tooling that will work the very
best for cutting the contours/profile of the barrel. I would also like to know
The best process for supporting the barrel during machining.
I took a night course where we used hand ground high speed steel cutters, taking a .020" depth of cut and I resolved then to find a better way.

I realize there are people who will suggest to me that I should buy my barrel bank already profiled by another and save myself the hassle.
While I respect that I want to learn how to do it.
Thank you all for any suggestions.
( my first project was a 6.5-.284 Norma)

I do not know if you have access to U.S. magazines, but if you do. The last issue of Machinist Workshop June/July 2011 Vol.24 , Number 3 has a complete several page article on just that subject. The author takes a Bull barrel and profiles it down, showing complete tools, rests and procedures. Reprint sales dept. shows an e-mail of [email protected]
or www.villagepress.com/workshop/ I hope this helps.

Back when I actually used to do such things, used my H.E.S. Tracer lathe and HSS tools ground for axial thrust rather than radial. IE close to 90 degree lead angle and lots of rake in a chip breaker parallel to the cutting edge.... straight out of the Henry Ford Shop text of the 1950's.

Cyclotronguy

We had a Graziano lathe setup with a tracer specifically for turning and profiling barrels.

If I started with a rough blank, I turned a chucking point between centers on the breech end. Profiling was done between a three jaw chuck and a spring loaded live center in the tail stock. Flood coolant was used to keep the cutter cool and a lead weight sometimes rode the barrel near the cutter to prevent chatter near the center of the cut.