What's new
What's new

You carn`t make barrels on a lathe!

homebrew.357

Aluminum
Hi, New member here from New Zealand, I`v been on some other forums in the US and I think there are two schools of members. The first ones are the tradesman, Engineers, Gunsmiths who on retiring go straight into hobby Engineering and Gunsmithing.
The second school is the guys who just take up Engineering as a hobby and have never been in the trade, I`m in this school, I was an Electroplater by trade, but liked making things out of steel. My first lathe was a Myford 7, it came with a book called , The Amateur`s Lathe by Lawrence H Sparey , a very helpfull book for the new machinest . I`m also keen deer hunter and have a .308w and a .3030w Marlin, so as I did not want to go into steam engines I thought I would have go at making a Hawkins plains rifle. For this I had to get a larger lathe, I got a Tiwanes lathe, 900" centers, 38 mm head stock bore for holding 1" stock,
Gun smiths will say "You carn`t do this on a lathe"!:nono:, it`s to hard. The trouble is us home machinest don`t know this :confused: and will go on and try to do the impossible ;).
Here is some pic`s of a Hawkins plains rifle, 26" barrel, 45cal, 6 grove rifling, 1-33" left hand twist. Made on my lathe, lock, stock, and barrel. :willy_nilly:, You carn`t do this!!!:scratchchin: Cheers homebrew357.P1010373[1].jpgP1010374[1].jpgP1010466.jpgP1010467.jpg

Homebrew,

Thanks for sharing your southpaw rifle, it is always nice to finish a challenging project. Your statement that gunsmiths would tell you that you cannot make a barrel on a lathe needs to be understood in context. For a gunsmith earning a living you cannot make a barrel in a lathe with enough economy and consistency to satisfy paying customers.