What's new
What's new

Control interfacing

bdrmachine

Aluminum
I’m not so, patiently waiting on my first Haas mill, a 2015 tm1p. I have no experience with this control. I have some cnc experience and own a 4 axis mill with a Centroid control but this will be a big step up for my shop. I would appreciate any input from the group that will help me get use to the Haas control.

The HFO told me this mill should have some extra inputs / outputs (I/O) on the control. How do you connect / interface to these? I hope this is something I can configure without having to pay for a service call. I have the electronic background but not the control specifics information.

Thanks Much
Brian

Pretty much all you need to move programs is a USB jump drive.

Sent from my KYOCERA-E6560 using Tapatalk

I don't mean interfacing for program transfer. What I want to do is allow my control / G-code to command external devices, like a electric air valve to change clamping.

They are user defined M codes. On mine they are M51-M58 to turn on and M61-M68 to turn off.

Yep, used to control external devices. It's pretty well spelled out in the owners manual.

As a simple example: I use M51 to control a clamp but want to be sure the part is in position first. I would like to test a input to the control prior to clamping.

I don't know if there's a simple way to do that or not. My machines have probing, so if I was concerned about a situation like that I would write a probing routine and check it against a known good set of value. Pass, run program. Fail, alarm out.

Re-read your post. You want to ensure correct placement BEFORE clamping?
That would be a fixture/operator issue.