What's new
What's new

First CNC purchase advice

Avrgjoe

Cast Iron
I am purchacing my first CNN for my shop, this will be my "intro to CNC", I am buying a new VF2. I am looking for any specific info that as a CNC newbie I probably don't know and should know. Basic any experience advice is more than welcome. I have gotten a small group of assorted tooling, 22 various holders, collet etc. I have also gotten my CAM software secured, I will be using FeatureCAM/FeatureMILL 3 HMS. I am working on getting my 3 phase power connected in my shop, previously I have run my older manual machines off of VFD phase converters.

Any advice will be very much appreciated! Advice on things to watch for that may be either un-thought of or just unexpected cost, needs, wants etc....

Thanks in advance!,
Joe

Last edited:
Watch all the Haas videos on maintenance.

Things you will need..
- tool offset gauge
- tool storage rack
- tool changing fixture
- clean buckets to mix coolant
- easy access to water
- 1 gallon measuring container
- refractometer
- time
- patiance

Depending on your budget, here's a few options that you should consider.

On a VF2, if you go with the extended Y, you can get the 41 side mount ATC. MY advice would be to stay away from the umbrella style tool changer.

If your looking at a higher end cam, like feature cam, you're going to want the HSM and extended memory option.

Spring for the Probe. You'll never regret it.

Dang it Larry. You're right. We just got a new VF2-SSYT last December, but with the 24 tool SMTC... Salesman says "oh the 40 isn't available for this one". Looks like it actually is per the build-a-quote on their website. Bummer. (or maybe it's changed since? I don't remember build-a-quote from last time)

I think Larry and BGL made some good points, Joe. Definitely get the probe now. Larry is correct.